This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.9 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.9
Comfort
8.8
Property Location
8.8
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.4
Value
8.9
Reviews
    pe
    5.0
    January 3, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marshall
    us
    10
    October 19, 2017
    Relaxing and a lot of fun!
    Zarela's service, food, the hot water, the beds, everything was amazing. Climbers will feel especially at home! It was probably the best place we stayed all month.
    ca
    7.1
    September 5, 2017
    Good choice.
    Menu was a little limited to Thai food. Would be good to include small pizza or something a little more pub-related so that at the end of a long day of hiking, you can just have a beer and pizza without going to another restaurant.
    Zarella was very helpful. She provided bag lunches for our acclimitisation hikes and helped us recover our sleeping bags that the tour agency mixed up. Room was clean, shower needed a good scrubbing though. The Thai curry was fabulous - we ordered it twice and didn't get sick!
    Michael
    us
    7.5
    July 10, 2017
    Fun, interesting place to stay. More BnB than hotel.
    Be mindful that this place is definitely more of a BnB than a hotel. I'm not saying that's a bad thing (because frankly my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves), but if it isn't what you want, then you might not enjoy it. They made our beds each day, but didn't give us new towels or toiletries. This place is seemingly the #1 spot for hardcore international climbers to stay, because you couldn't go around a corner without seeing a ton of gear either spread out on the floor or packed up in giant bags. The climbers are in & out all day every day during the dry season, and it feels more like a dormitory than a hotel. Again, I personally didn't mind this, and I enjoyed talking to people from around the world. But if you're looking for more privacy and a quieter setting, I'd recommend elsewhere.
    The owner, Zarela, was extremely nice and helpful. She clearly has experience dealing with international travelers. She gave us lots of good suggestions on getting around town and also let us store our bags and shower in a spare room on the last day when we did a long hike and were leaving later that night. (Rather than make us check out or pay for an extra night) The breakfast was very tasty! They have a simple menu but do it well. The rest of the staff do not speak English, but are very helpful nonetheless and do their best to work with you if Zarela is not around.
    Ian
    us
    10
    April 26, 2017
    Best Accommodations in Huaraz
    The layout of the whole property was beautiful!
    Krystyna
    jp
    10
    November 30, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paula
    us
    7.9
    September 14, 2016
    Private bathroom
    ca
    9.2
    September 7, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kelly
    us
    8.8
    June 19, 2016
    Great value for a unique property
    Hot water wasn't consistent.
    Fabulous breakfast (not included but well worth the price)- amount of fresh fruit was impressive. View from the roof deck was amazing. Lots of common space throughout the property, not a cookie-cutter place. On a quiet street, easily walkable to the center of town.
    Beth
    us
    10
    April 22, 2016
    Our home away from home
    We have been coming to Zarela's for 10 years. We never stay anywhere else in Huaraz. Zarela is super accommodating. The Casa is comfortable with beautiful views. The breakfast is amazing!
    fr
    10
    February 23, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
Close